About Urban Nomad

URBAN NOMAD, held annually since 2002, is Taiwan’s biggest indie film festival, with a curated section for international independent films, a local competition section and a 2-day music festival. We’ve been called a “mini-SXSW”, an independent, cross-over creative platform for film, music, art and technology. Our mission is to create dialogue between cutting edge ideas and communities, causes and social movements. In Taiwan we’re known as the most energetic platform for newest film-ideas on art, music, LGBT, environmental/activist movements and culture in general. Attendance is between 10,000 to 15,000 total visits per year.

Our major film events take place in central Taipei in April and May, with touring screenings in the summer months to other Taiwan cities including Hsinchu, Taoyuan and Taichung. All feature films are Taiwan or Taipei premiers, and we’ve previously hosted Taiwan premiers for the Oscar-winning documentary THE COVE, hip hop documentary NAS: TIME IS ILLMATIC and numerous award winning films from Sundance, Berlin, SXSW and other top festivals. We’ve been invited to create film programs for the Taipei Biennial (2008), the Scope Art Fair in Basel (2007), Scope Art Fair Miami (2007), Videotage Hong Kong (2008), Art Taipei (2009), Treasure Hill Artist Village (2010) and Taiwan Designers Week (2011-2012).

Urban Nomad’s annual music fest We’ve also produced concerts for bands and DJs including MAJOR LAZER, DIPLO, GUITAR WOLF, BOB LOG III, MARK REEDER, TRIPPPLE NIPPPLES, MOP OF HEAD, KINOCO HOTEL and numerous top Taiwanese indie bands. Urban Nomad is mainly supported by fans, a growing collection of likeminded sponsors, and is the only major film event in Taiwan that is not heavily subsidized by government funding.

INFO: 2017 Films | 2017 Music Festival

關於城市遊牧影展

「城市遊牧影展」,自2002年創辦至今,已成為台灣最大的獨立電影節。在一年一度的文化盛事當中,主要內容有精彩的國際獨立電影邀映、台灣影像競賽、以及兩日音樂祭,旨在不斷追蹤探索當代藝術、音樂、性別、科技、環境與人權等社會議題的發展方向,突破領域疆界、串聯不同思維,以促成各種新興思潮與文化社群、人類現況與社會運動之間的相互對話。因此,我們又被稱為“迷你SXSW” (SXSW影展,每年在美國德州奧斯汀舉辦,以廣納多樣化影像作品、營造影展高能量氛圍為特色。),是台灣最具活力的跨域藝文創意交流平台。每年吸引10,000 至 15,000 人參與城市遊牧盛會。

核心影展活動每年固定四、五月在台北舉辦,夏季則巡迴至新竹,桃園,台中等地。所有的城市遊牧影展中引介的電影長片皆為台灣或台北首映,包括當年甫獲奧斯卡大獎的紀錄片《血色海灣》、風靡紐約的嘻哈紀錄片《Nas的毀壞機制》、以及眾多獲得日舞、柏林、SXSW或其他重要影展肯定的得獎作品。我們更曾多次受邀為其他藝術盛會策畫電影單元,包含台北雙年展(2008)、巴塞爾Scope藝術博覽會(2007)、邁阿密Scope藝術博覽會(2007)、香港錄映太奇(2008)、台北國際藝術博覽會(2009)、寶藏巖國際藝術村(2010)和台灣設計師週(2011-2012)等。

備受矚目的城市遊牧音樂祭,總是引進全世界最獨特、新潮的樂團和DJ,包括MAJOR LAZER、DIPLO、GUITAR WOLF、BOB LOG III、MARK REEDER、TRIPPPLE NIPPPLES、MOP OF HEAD、KINOCO HOTEL,和許許多多優秀的台灣獨立樂團,提供現場觀眾最震撼的視聽饗宴和文化刺激。

我們是台灣唯一不強力依賴政府補助的大型影展。獨立是我們的精神,廣大的粉絲群和志同道合的贊助夥伴們,就是實際支撐起「城市遊牧」的最大力量!

資訊: 2017 影展片單 | 2017 音樂祭